Pen To Print

Saturday Spotlight: Latest Book Releases w/c 25 July

by Claire Buss, Deputy Editor, Write On! 

At Write On! and Pen to Print we want to help connect authors and readers, so we’ve created a Spotlight page every Saturday, showcasing some of the exciting new reads available. The list has been curated by Lisa Rouiller and myself, based on books that you send us, so if you’re an author and you’d like your book in the spotlight, reach out to Lisa at pentoprint@lbbd.gov.uk. Whether you’re an indie author, with a small press or mainstream publisher, we’d love to hear from you and shine a light on your new novel.

Write On! offers other opportunities for writers as well. If you’d like us to feature an extract from your book or a short story, please send the extract, book cover and blurb to pentoprint@lbbd.gov.uk with the subject Write On! Showcase (ensuring you have your publisher’s permission, of course).

Pen to Print are also looking for short videos from people reading a passage from their favourite book, or authors reading extracts from their own books. These videos will be featured on the Pen to Print YouTube channel and across our social media. Please send in your videos or links to pentoprint@lbbd.gov.uk with the subject ‘Video Stories’.

Fey’s War by Catherine Bailey

In September 1944, the SS march into a remote Italian castle, arrest a mother and seize her two sons, aged just two and three. If Hitler has his way she will never see them again.

Fey Pirzio-Biroli is the daughter of Ulrich von Hassell, executed days after the failed assassination of the Fuhrer. Mercilessly cast into the Nazi death machine, Fey must cling to the hope that one day she will escape and rescue her lost children . . .

Available to buy here

The Target Of Lies by Edie Baylis

Neil Sparks has a score to settle. In fact, he has several.

His first port of call when returning from France after a five-year exile is to catch up with his estranged wife. Secondly, he wants to even a score with the people instrumental in his departure and thirdly, he wants an explanation from the man who promised his marriage would be free from hassle. The trouble is, he’s not the only one with an agenda…

Reeling after the recent devastation in her life, Tori wants an end to all the revenge, suffering and pain. When Hunter makes the decision to return to the Reapers, it seems his decision has brought more grief, just as she feared it would – but that is only one of her problems.

Her own life, and that of those around her is still blighted with Richard Stevens’ deceit, but his deeds are catching up with him and the net is closing in from all angles – including places he hadn’t expected.

There are too many people about to become caught in the crossfire, and everyone could be a target.

A nail-biting, fast-paced gritty thriller of crime, betrayal and retribution, perfect for fans of Martina Cole, Kimberley Chambers and Jessie Keane.

Available to buy here
Connect with Edie Baylis

The Strange Book Of Jacob Boyce by Tom Gillespie

A spiralling obsession. A missing wife. A terrifying secret. Will he find her before it’s too late?

When Dr Jacob Boyce’s wife goes missing, the police put it down to a simple marital dispute. Jacob, however, fears something darker. Following her trail to Spain, he becomes convinced that Ella’s disappearance is tied to a mysterious painting whose hidden geometric and numerical riddles he’s been obsessively trying to solve for months. Obscure, hallucinogenic clues and bizarre, larger-than-life characters guide an increasingly unhinged Jacob through a nightmarish Spanish landscape to an art forger’s studio in Madrid, where he comes face-to-face with a centuries-old horror, and the terrifying, mind-bending truth about his wife.

Available to buy here
Connect with Tom Gillespie


The One That Got Away by Egan Hughes

Mia thinks she has escaped her controlling ex-husband, Rob. She’s found herself a new home, a new boyfriend and a new life.

But when the police arrive to tell her that Rob has been found dead on his boat, things quickly fall apart. Mia is terrified she’ll be suspected. The police are keeping all options open and they know Mia had reason to hate her ex-husband, but she’s not the only one. Plenty of people wanted Rob Creavy dead – not least his new wife, Rachel.

What they don’t know is that Mia has a secret: one she is desperate to protect. But someone else knows. Someone with very dark secrets of their own.

A claustrophobic, twisty, psychological thriller about love, trauma and revenge – perfect for fans of, The HolidaySomething In The Water and The Woman In Cabin Ten.

Available to buy here
Connect with Egan Hughes

Hush Little Baby by Jane Isaac

Someone stole a baby…

One sunny day in July, someone took three-month-old Alicia Owen from her pram outside a supermarket. Her mother, Marie, was inside. No one saw who took Alicia. And no one could find her.

They silenced her cry…

Fifteen years later, a teenager on a construction site sees a tiny hand in the ground. When the police investigate, they find a baby buried and preserved in concrete. Could it be Alicia?

But the truth will always out.

When Alicia disappeared, the papers accused Marie of detachment and neglect. The Owens never got over the grief of their child’s disappearance and divorced not long after. By reopening the case, DC Beth Chamberlain must reopen old wounds. But the killer may be closer than anyone ever suspected…

The latest crime thriller featuring Family Liaison Officer DC Beth Chamberlain, Hush Little Baby is tightly plotted, fraught with tension and impossible to put down. Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and K.L. Slater.

Available to buy here
Connect with Jane Isaac

Remember, if you’re an author and you’d like to see your book in our Saturday Spotlight, email: pentoprint@lbbd.gov.uk and send us the details of your new novel. 
Further Links

For details of Penguin RandomHouse new releases, visit their website here.
For details of Hachette new releases, visit their website here.
For details of HarperCollins new releases, visit their website here.
For details of PanMacmillan new releases, visit their website here.
For details of Simon & Schuster new releases, visit their website here.

Disclaimer: Amazon links are given for ease but please remember there are a number of other online retailers operating, including hive (which helps to support independent book shops), Kobo, Apple Books, Google Play and Nook as well as online stores for bookstores like Waterstones, Barnes & Noble and WHSmiths. Given the current situation, though, please check first.

Read the latest issue of Write On! magazine online here

We want to help connect authors and readers, so we've decided to create a spotlight page every Saturday, showcasing some of the exciting new reads available.